I’d like to think that I’m a weed..

wildflowers

I’d like to think that I’m a weed.

Last week I felt incredibly flustered. You know those days when you don’t feel like you have any spare time for anything…Don’t have time to read those emails, don’t have time to pay those invoices, don’t have time to do anything! Well I was having one of ‘those’ days.

I think my husband caught on to the fact that my frantically psychotic second personality was starting to make an appearance and he offered to take our toddler for a walk around the property to give me some quiet time. Yes! I went out to the front of our house that looks over the Adelaide Hills, and sat watching the sun setting over the ocean. ‘Okay, time to find my Zen’ I thought as I found a nice spot to meditate. Just as I sat down I took a very solemn look at all the weeds on my property that have been completely ignored for the past few months. Instantly I became flustered again. I began working out how many hours it would take me to sort out this mess. Trying to ignore it, I’d close my eyes and try to empty my mind.

Breathe in. Breathe out. There are so many weeds! Breathe in. Breathe out. They’ve already flowered and are probably seeding the rest of my property right now while I sit here! Breathe in. Breathe out.

I could not for the life of me get these weeds out of my head! I opened my eyes and just watched them instead of trying to forget out them. They were swaying in the warm breeze. The flowers had turned to soak up the final moments of that day’s sun. They weren’t hurting anyone. They weren’t stopping anyone or anything else from growing. In fact, they looked gorgeous. An abundance of white, yellow and red flowers were flooding my property and I was stressing because they were existing? How bizarre.

What we’ve been taught in life is that weeds are not welcome in our gardens. We need to rip them out of our earth and use poisons to stop them from growing to their potential. But despite all of our attempts to rid of them, they always seem find a way. They find a way to grow, somewhere to flourish and show off their colours when they finally get to flower. They are a called a ‘weed’ because they are very easily and very quickly able to establish a home and dominate that area of earth.

The Oxford Dictionary actually defines a weed as ‘As wild plant growing where it is not wanted and in competition with cultivated plants’.

Wow. Sounds strangely similar to our lives in society. Weeds don’t need support from others to flourish and don’t need someone to help them reach their potential. They are self-sufficient plants that are strong-willed and very hardy to nature. They always seem to find a way succeed.

I’ve decided to take a step back from all of the moments and events that would normally stress me, and instead of trying to figure out when or how I’m going to tackle it, I’m going to just watch and find the beauty in it. Admittedly since I’ve had this epiphany I haven’t always kept my cool. But in a few situations – I have, and those moments that would normally ‘ruin my day’…haven’t.

I’d like to think that I’m a weed.

Leave a Reply

